Sasnouskaya and Rapolu Secure Qualifying Victories at ITA All-American Championships in Women's Tennis

SportsAdmin

Sasnouskaya and Rapolu Secure Qualifying Victories at ITA All-American Championships in Women’s Tennis

live tennis news, men's tennis news today, tennis news nadal, tennis news today results, tennis news: djokovic, tennis scores

In the opening day of the ITA Women’s All-American Championships in Cary, N.C., Texas Women’s Tennis showcased their prowess. Graduate No. 18 Tanya Sasnouskaya and senior No. 99 Malaika Rapolu both clinched victories in their singles matches, propelling them to the second round of qualifying.

Sasnouskaya demonstrated her dominance by defeating Pauline Ernstberger of Boise State with a scoreline of 6-2, 6-3. Meanwhile, Rapolu triumphed over Anna Zhang of Columbia in a closely contested match, emerging victorious with a score of 6-4, 7-5.

Despite the efforts of senior Charlotte Chavatipon in singles qualifying, she fell short in her opener against No. 110 Sophie Abrams of NC State, losing 6-4, 7-5. However, Sasnouskaya and Chavatipon bounced back in the doubles qualifying consolation round, securing a walkover win against Malwina Rowinska and Qavia Lopez from UF.

In the upcoming matches, Sasnouskaya is set to face off against No. 60 Mae Canete of Missouri at 12 p.m. ET/11 a.m. CT, while Rapolu will challenge No. 61 Anastasiia Lopata of Georgia at 9 a.m. ET/8 a.m. CT in their respective singles events. Additionally, the doubles teams of Sasnouskaya and Chavatipon, as well as Rapolu and sophomore Vivian Ovrootsky, are geared up for their matches in the consolation draw. Sasnouskaya and Chavatipon will battle against Sophie Zehender and Violetta Borodina of Wyoming at a time yet to be determined, whereas Rapolu and Ovrootsky will face 4 seed No. 31 Brooke Killingsworth and Marcella Cruz of Wake Forest at 5 p.m. ET/4 p.m. CT.

Stay tuned for the exciting action as the tournament unfolds, with Sasnouskaya, Rapolu, and the Texas Women’s Tennis team aiming for continued success in the ITA Women’s All-American Championships.

Reference:

https://texassports.com/news/2023/10/2/womens-tennis-womens-tennis-rapolu-advances-to-qualifying-at-ita-all-american-championships

https://texassports.com/news/2023/10/2/womens-tennis-womens-tennis-sasnouskaya-rapolu-earn-qualifying-wins-at-ita-all-american-championships.aspx

Leave a Comment