Japanese Moto 3 race Masia seizes consecutive victories claims the points


Japanese Moto 3 race Masia seizes consecutive victories claims the points

motogp calendar, motogp champions, motogp live, motogp qualifying, motogp schedule today

Jaume Masia has surged to the forefront of the 2023 Moto3 World Championship standings, seizing this position for the first time. He capitalized on rival conflicts to secure a commanding victory in the Japanese Moto3 event at Motegi.

This triumph marked Masia’s second consecutive win in just over a week, affirming his status as the standout performer in various aspects of the race. He found himself in the ideal position at the right moment, leading a closely-matched group of four riders into the second half of the race.

As skirmishes and disputes erupted among Ayumu Sasaki, Deniz Oncu, and Daniel Holgado behind him, Masia seized the opportunity to accelerate, establishing a gap that he maintained until the checkered flag. This victory marked his third of the season and his eighth podium finish.

Arriving in Japan tied in points with Daniel Holgado at the summit of the standings, Masia’s win now propels him to the top position, displacing the Spaniard for the first time this season. Additionally, Sasaki’s second-place finish pushes him ahead of Holgado into third place in the championship standings, with only nine points separating the trio.

Though Masia avoided the conflicts unfolding behind him, his race wasn’t without challenges. Initially, he lost the lead from pole position into Turn 1 and was pushed down to fourth place. Deniz Oncu secured the hole-shot into Turn 1, passing Holgado and Stefano Nepa, with Masia and Sasaki in pursuit.

By the second lap, Masia and Sasaki had overtaken Nepa, positioning themselves as the lead quartet that would dictate the race’s pace. Despite Oncu’s determined hold on the lead initially, the jostling behind him eventually caught up, with Masia claiming the lead on lap seven after passing Holgado and Sasaki just a few corners earlier.

Masia’s charge into the lead was impressive, but he couldn’t break away from the pursuing trio. Sasaki, Oncu, and Holgado clung to his tail as the race entered its second half. However, before Sasaki could challenge Masia for the lead, a unique move by Oncu through Turns 12 and 13 set off a series of disruptions on lap 11. These incidents allowed Masia to escape as Oncu and Sasaki struggled to regain momentum, while Holgado joined the battle.

Unfortunately for Oncu, his race took a devastating turn when, just after reclaiming second place, he crashed out at Turn 10, likely putting him out of contention for the championship.

Masia, now with a comfortable lead of over a second, cruised to victory in the final laps. Sasaki and Holgado engaged in a battle for second place, with Holgado executing an impressive pass into Turn 11 on the last lap but losing momentum on the final straight, allowing Sasaki to snatch second place at the finish line.

Stefano Nepa achieved his best finish of fourth, followed by his teammate Ivan Ortola in fifth place. The race for sixth was highly competitive, with numerous position changes throughout the race. Ultimately, David Munoz secured seventh place, followed by David Alonso in eighth, Kaito Toba in ninth, and Ryusei Yamanaka in tenth.

Diogo Moreira narrowly missed a top-six finish due to a late setback, crossing the line in 14th place. Joel Kelso earned the final point in 15th.

British riders Scott Ogden and Josh Whatley faced a challenging race, finishing outside the points in 18th and 20th positions, respectively.

2023 Japanese Moto3 Race Results at Motegi Twin Ring Circuit (Round 14 of 20)

  1. Jaume Masia (🇪🇦) – Leopard Racing – Honda – 17 Laps
  2. Ayumu Sasaki (🇯🇵) – Husqvarna IntactGP – Husqvarna – +1.546
  3. Daniel Holgado (🇪🇦) – Red Bull KTM Tech3 – KTM – +1.602
  4. Stefano Nepa (🇮🇹) – Angeluss MTA Team – KTM – +5.200
  5. Ivan Ortola (🇪🇦) – Angeluss MTA Team – KTM – +5.230
  6. David Munoz (🇪🇦) – BOE Motorsports – KTM – +8.900
  7. David Alonso (🇨🇴) – GASGAS Aspar M3 – GasGas – +8.959
  8. Kaito Toba (🇯🇵) – SIC58 Squadra Corse – Honda – +9.253
  9. Ryusei Yamanaka (🇯🇵) – GASGAS Aspar M3 – GasGas – +9.629
  10. Jose Antonio Rueda (🇪🇦) – Red Bull KTM Ajo – KTM – +9.734
  11. Collin Veijer (🇳🇱) – Husqvarna IntactGP – Husqvarna – +9.804
  12. Taiyo Furusato (🇯🇵) – Honda Team Asia – Honda – +10.195
  13. Riccardo Rossi (🇮🇹) – SIC58 Squadra Corse – Honda – +10.874
  14. Diogo Moreira (🇧🇷) – MT Helmets – MSI – KTM – +11.577
  15. Joel Kelso (🇦🇺) – CFMoto PruestelGP – CFMoto – +13.905
  16. Filippo Farioli (🇮🇹) – Red Bull KTM Tech3 – KTM – +16.674
  17. David Almansa (🇪🇦) – Rivacold Snipers Team – Honda – +31.109
  18. Scott Ogden (🇬🇧) – VisionTrack Racing – Honda – +31.282
  19. Syarifuddin Azman (🇲🇾) – MT Helmets – MSI – KTM – +31.478
  20. Joshua Whatley (🇬🇧) – VisionTrack Racing – Honda – +31.551
  21. Lorenzo Fellon (🇫🇷) – CIP Green Power – KTM – +31.587
  22. Ana Carrasco (🇪🇦) – BOE Motorsports – KTM – +32.969
  23. Mario Suryo Aji (🇮🇩) – Honda Team Asia – Honda – +38.000


  • Tatsuki Suzuki (🇪🇦) – Leopard Racing – Honda
  • Deniz Oncu (🇹🇷) – Red Bull KTM Ajo – KTM
  • Matteo Bertelle (🇮🇹) – Rivacold Snipers Team – Honda
  • Xavier Artigas (🇪🇦) – CFMoto PruestelGP – CFMoto

Ana Carrasco, Ayumu Sasaki, Buddh, Daniel Holgado, David Alonso, David Munoz, Deniz Oncu, Diogo Moreira, Ivan Ortola, Jaume Masia, Jose Antonio Rueda, Joshua Whatley, Kaito Toba, Motegi, results, Romano Fenati, Scott Ogden, Stefano Nepa, Tatsuki Suzuki, Xavier Artigas.


  • Ajo KTM
  • Angeluss MTA Team
  • BOE Motorsports
  • CFMoto Racing Prustel GP
  • CIP Green Power
  • GasGas
  • GasGas Aspar M3
  • Honda
  • Honda Team Asia
  • Husqvarna
  • IntactGP Husqvarna
  • KTM
  • KTM Tech3
  • Leopard Racing
  • MT Helmets – MSI
  • Rivacold Snipers Team
  • SIC58 Squadra Corse
  • VisionTrack Racing





Leave a Comment