Lionel Messi's 8th Ballon d'Or: Counting FIFA World Cup Champions


Lionel Messi’s 8th Ballon d’Or: Counting FIFA World Cup Champions

fifa news messi, Fifa news today, fifa news twitter, fifa world cup news, fifa world cup news 2023

In the world of soccer, two prestigious trophies stand out: the Ballon d’Or and the FIFA World Cup. Only nine players have had the honor of hoisting both. As Lionel Messi clinches the World Cup and eyes his historic 8th Ballon d’Or, he’s on the brink of joining this exclusive club. Who are the other eight?”

1. Sir Bobby Charlton

A Manchester United legend, Bobby Charlton won the World Cup in 1966 and claimed the Ballon d’Or the same year. He also secured the Champions League in 1968.

2. Gerd Muller

Gerd Muller, an icon of German soccer, won the Ballon d’Or in 1970 and then the World Cup in 1974. He holds four European Championship titles.

3. Franz Beckenbauer

Franz Beckenbauer, a former Bayern Munich player, won the World Cup in 1974 and the Ballon d’Or twice in 1972 and 1976. He also clinched three consecutive Champions League titles from 1974 to 1976.

4. Paolo Rossi

Paolo Rossi, who revolutionized Italian soccer, achieved the double in 1982, winning the World Cup and the Ballon d’Or. He also secured the Champions League with Juventus in 1985.

Credit by:

5. Zinedine Zidane

The French maestro, Zinedine Zidane, accomplished the World Cup and Ballon d’Or double in 1998. He later became a successful manager, winning three consecutive UCL trophies with Real Madrid.

6. Rivaldo

Rivaldo, a Brazilian star and former Barcelona player, captured the Ballon d’Or in 1999 and triumphed in the 2002 World Cup. He concluded his career by winning the Champions League with AC Milan in 2003.

7. Ronaldinho

Another Brazilian icon, Ronaldinho, celebrated victory in the 2002 World Cup and was awarded the Ballon d’Or in 2005. Known for his extraordinary dribbling skills, he left an indelible mark on the game.

8. Kaka

Ricardo de Kaka, renowned for his skillful play, won the World Cup with Brazil in 2002 and the Ballon d’Or in 2007. He also claimed the 2007 Champions League with Real Madrid.

Lionel Messi’s potential 8th Ballon d’Or would mark a significant milestone in his illustrious career. However, competition is fierce, with Erling Haaland emerging as a strong contender.

Will Lionel Messi secure his place in this elite list?

Credit by:

Messi’s remarkable year with Argentina saw him clinch the World Cup, becoming the Best Player of the Tournament and MVP in the final against France. He seems to have fulfilled every soccer player’s dream from an objective standpoint.

Erling Haaland, the second favorite, is a worthy adversary for the Ballon d’Or. The winner will be revealed on October 30th, 2023.


Leave a Comment