World Cup 2023 Australia and Sri Lanka Seek First Win in Desperate Battle.

In the 2023 ODI World Cup, Australia and Sri Lanka, both former champions, face off in a critical match at Lucknow’s Ekana Cricket Stadium on Monday.

After two matches, both teams are yet to secure a win. Australia faced defeats against India and South Africa, while Sri Lanka lost to South Africa and Pakistan.

Australia is in dire need of improvement after losing seven of their last eight ODIs. In this tournament, their performance in all aspects has been subpar, with numerous dropped catches and struggles with both bat and ball.

Facing a vulnerable Sri Lankan bowling attack could be an opportunity for Australia to regain form, especially since they’ve trained in Lucknow and faced South Africa at the same venue.

Credit By Photo:

Skipper Pat Cummins confirmed their three-pronged pace attack and spin duties shared between Adam Zampa and Glenn Maxwell.

Sri Lanka, occupying the seventh spot on the points table, has had a decent batting performance but concerns about their bowling persist. Inexperienced bowlers conceded 775 runs in their first two matches.

Kusal Mendis will lead the team in place of the injured Dasun Shanaka, and Chamika Karunaratne is expected to bolster the bowling attack.

The match is scheduled for October 16th, starting at 2 PM IST, with the toss at 1.30 PM IST, at the Ekana Cricket Stadium. Live coverage will be available on Star Sports Network and Disney+ Hotstar.

In head-to-head statistics, Australia holds a 63-35 win-loss record against Sri Lanka in ODIs. In ODI World Cups, Australia has a dominant record with eight wins out of ten encounters.


Australia: Pat Cummins (c), Steve Smith, Alex Carey, Josh Inglis, Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Mitch Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa, Mitchell Starc.

Credit By Photo:

Sri Lanka: Kusal Mendis (c), Kusal Perera, Pathum Nissanka, Lahiru Kumara, Dimuth Karunaratne, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Kasun Rajitha, Matheesha Pathirana, Dilshan Madushanka, Dushan Hemantha, Chamika Karunaratne.

Credit By Photo:


Leave a Comment