The Comprehensive Guide to the 2023 Cricket World Cup: Everything You Need to Know

On October 4, 2023, the ICC Cricket World Cup took center stage at the ‘Captains’ Day’, an interactive session held at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. The inaugural match between England and New Zealand is scheduled for October 5.

Image Credit: AFP

The 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup commences on October 5, featuring an exciting face-off between England and New Zealand at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, India. This marks a golden opportunity for New Zealand to seek redemption for their loss in the 2019 final.

Following 45 league games and three knockout matches, the ultimate champions will be crowned on November 19. This article provides an in-depth overview of the tournament’s historical context, format, regulations, and venues, along with details on where to catch all the action on television.

Which Teams Compete in the World Cup?

The 2023 Cricket World Cup showcases a fierce competition among ten formidable teams: England, India, Australia, Pakistan, New Zealand, South Africa, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, and the Netherlands.

Surprisingly, the West Indies, champions of the first two World Cups, are conspicuously absent, having failed to secure one of the nine qualification spots.

How Did the Teams Earn Their Spots?

While host nation India received an automatic entry, the remaining nine countries battled through a rigorous three-year qualification process, involving various stages and smaller tournaments.

Seven teams, including defending champions England, earned their spots through their performance in the ICC Super League. This three-year competition saw 13 teams engage in eight three-match bilateral series from July 2020 to May 2023. New Zealand, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Australia, Afghanistan, and South Africa also clinched their spots in the Cricket World Cup.

The bottom five teams proceeded to the World Cup Qualifier, joined by representatives from League 2 and the Qualifier Play-off tournament. The Netherlands and Sri Lanka emerged as the final two contenders, securing their positions by triumphing in the knockout qualifier.

What’s the Format for the 2023 World Cup?

The matches adhere to the classic 50-over-a-side format, commonly known as One-Day Internationals (ODIs). The initial phase follows a round-robin structure, where all teams face off once. This stage culminates on November 12 with India taking on the Netherlands in Bengaluru. The top four teams will advance to the semifinals.

What Are the Rules?

Each team is allotted 50 overs for both batting and bowling, akin to a standard ODI match. The team that amasses the highest run total emerges victorious. Bowlers are limited to delivering a maximum of 10 overs during an innings.

The game features three powerplay phases. In Powerplay One, spanning the initial 10 overs, the fielding team can station only two fielders outside the 30-yard circle. Powerplay Two, extending from overs 11 to 40, allows a maximum of four fielders outside the circle. Powerplay Three encompasses the final 10 overs, during which up to five fielders can be positioned outside the circle.

Tiebreaker Scenarios: In the event of a tie in scores at the end of a match, a super over will be utilized to determine the winner. If the teams remain tied after the super over, a second super over will be held. This process will continue until a definitive winner emerges.

Semifinal Qualification Criteria: To secure a spot in the semifinals, a team will typically need to achieve seven victories out of nine matches. However, if no matches are affected by weather, six wins may pose a qualification challenge. In cases where teams are tied on points, the number of total wins becomes the first tiebreaker, followed by the net run rate.

Semifinal Matchups: The teams finishing in the first and fourth positions will face off in the first semifinal, while the second and third-placed teams will contend in the second semifinal.

Reserve Days: The semifinals and the final have designated reserve days, scheduled for the following day.

Match Venues: Matches will unfold across ten distinctive grounds, spanning from Dharamsala in the north to Bangalore and Chennai in the south. The selected venues include Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Dharamshala, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Lucknow, New Delhi, Mumbai, and Pune.

The first semifinal of the Cricket World Cup 2023 is set to take place on November 15 in Mumbai, followed by the second semifinal on November 16 in Kolkata. The matchups will feature the teams that finished in the first and fourth positions in the first semifinal, while the second and third-placed teams will face off in the second semifinal.

In the event that Pakistan qualifies, their semifinals will be held in Kolkata, regardless of their ranking. If India secures a spot, their semifinal will be hosted in Mumbai. Additionally, should India and Pakistan teams find themselves in a semifinal showdown, the match will be contested in Kolkata.

Odds for Each Team:

  • India: 15/8
  • England: 16/5
  • Australia: 4/1
  • Pakistan: 6/1
  • South Africa: 15/2
  • New Zealand: 9/1
  • Sri Lanka: 25/1
  • Bangladesh: 100/1
  • Afghanistan: 100/1
  • Netherlands: 500/1

Prize Money Breakdown:

The total prize money for the tournament amounts to $10 million. The champions will receive $4 million, while the runners-up will be awarded $2 million. Semifinalists will each walk away with $800,000, and teams finishing at the group stage will earn $100,000. Additionally, each group stage win will fetch $40,000.

Previous World Cup Champions:

  • West Indies: 1975, 1979
  • India: 1983, 2011
  • Australia: 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015
  • Pakistan: 1992
  • Sri Lanka: 1996
  • Television Broadcast Information:
  • For viewers in the UAE, the Cricket World Cup 2023 can be enjoyed on CricLife Max via the STARZPLAY app. In India, the matches will be broadcasted on Star Sports, while cricket enthusiasts in Pakistan can catch the action on PTV and ARY.
  • Historical Evolution:
  • The Cricket World Cup, held every four years, has undergone significant transformations since its inception in 1975. The inaugural tournaments, known as the Prudential World Cup, were exclusively hosted in England and featured 60-over matches, taking advantage of the extended daylight in the region. Players donned traditional whites, and the classic red ball was in play.
  • As the World Cup ventured beyond England, it became the Reliance World Cup, finding a new home in India. Match formats were modified to 50 overs, marking a pivotal shift. Over time, the introduction of colored attire, white balls, and powerplays became integral elements of the competition.
  • This marks the 13th installment of the World Cup and the second occasion that India has taken up the role of host.
Credit By:


Leave a Comment