SL vs SA: Aiden Markram's historic ODI World Cup century sets new South African record for highest total ever.


SL vs SA: Aiden Markram’s historic ODI World Cup century sets new South African record for highest total ever.

Sl vs sa odi world cup highlights, Sl vs sa odi world cup live, Sl vs sa odi world cup live score, Sl vs sa odi world cup scorecard

Aiden Markram delivered a sensational 49-ball century, propelling South Africa to an imposing total in their inaugural ICC World Cup 2023 clash against Sri Lanka in Delhi. Alongside Markram’s historic feat, Rassie van der Dussen and Quinton de Kock also notched up centuries, creating an insurmountable challenge for Sri Lanka’s bowlers in the capital city.

Markram etched his name in the annals of cricket history by registering the quickest hundred in ICC ODI World Cup history on October 7, surpassing Kevin O’Brien’s 50-ball century set during the 2011 edition in India. His blistering innings yielded 106 runs off just 54 deliveries, studded with 14 fours and three sixes, propelling South Africa to a colossal total at Delhi’s Arun Jaitley Stadium. Quinton de Kock and Rassie van der Dussen joined the century parade, dismantling Sri Lanka’s bowling attack.

Fastest ODI World Cup Centuries

  1. Aiden Markram – 49 balls in 2023
  2. Kevin O’Brien – 50 balls in 2011
  3. Glenn Maxwell – 51 balls in 2015
  4. AB de Villiers – 52 balls in 2015
  5. Eoin Morgan – 57 balls in 2019

David Miller showcased his finishing prowess, contributing an unbeaten 39 runs from just 21 deliveries, driving South Africa to a record-breaking total of 428 runs, eclipsing Australia’s previous highest of 417 runs against Afghanistan in 2015.

Top ODI World Cup Team Totals

  1. South Africa – 428/5 vs Sri Lanka in 2023
  2. Australia – 417/6 vs Afghanistan in 2015
  3. India – 413/5 vs Bermuda in 2007
  4. South Africa – 411/4 vs Ireland in 2015
  5. South Africa – 408/5 vs West Indies in 2015

Sri Lanka’s Playing XI: Kusal Perera, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis (wk), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka (c), Dunith Wellalage, Matheesha Pathirana, Dilshan Madushanka, Kasun Rajitha

South Africa’s Playing XI: Quinton de Kock (wk), Temba Bavuma (c), Rassie van der Dussen, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Marco Jansen, Gerald Coetzee, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Kagiso Rabada


Leave a Comment