Pakistan vs Sri Lanka ICC World Cup 2023 Live Score: Hassan Ali Strikes Early, Removes Kusal Perera


Pakistan vs Sri Lanka ICC World Cup 2023 Live Score: Hassan Ali Strikes Early, Removes Kusal Perera

cricket news today match, pakistan cricket news, today cricket news in hindi, world cricket news

In the ICC ODI World Cup clash between Pakistan and Sri Lanka, Sri Lanka’s captain, Dasun Shanaka, won the toss and opted to bat first. Sri Lanka made one change to their lineup, with Maheesh Theekshana replacing Kasun Rajitha. On the other hand, Pakistan chose to replace Fakhar Zaman with Abdullah Shafique. Sri Lanka faced an early setback as Kusal Perera was dismissed by Hassan Ali.

Both Asian teams are eager to assert their supremacy, with Pakistan seeking revenge for their recent Asia Cup defeat to Sri Lanka, which eliminated them from the tournament. Pakistan’s campaign started with a win, but it was not entirely convincing as they faced pressure at times against the Netherlands. All eyes will be on skipper Babar Azam, who failed to score big in the last match. Pakistan also faces a crucial decision regarding the out-of-form Fakhar Zaman.

Sri Lanka, on the other hand, suffered a defeat in their opening match against South Africa. It was a forgettable night for Sri Lanka’s bowlers, who conceded the most runs in a World Cup match, tallying 428. Despite this, their batsmen, including Kusal Mendis and Charith Asalanka, displayed fightback by scoring half-centuries at the Arun Jaitley Stadium.

Head-to-Head Records Between Pakistan and Sri Lanka:

In their 156 ODI encounters, Pakistan has emerged victorious 92 times against Sri Lanka’s 59 wins, with 4 matches ending in no result and 1 fixture finishing as a tie. In their recent meeting, Sri Lanka won by 2 wickets in the Asia Cup 2023, thanks to the DLS method.

Playing XIs:


  1. Abdullah Shafique
  2. Imam-ul-Haq
  3. Babar Azam (c)
  4. Mohammad Rizwan (wk)
  5. Saud Shakeel
  6. Iftikhar Ahmed
  7. Mohammad Nawaz
  8. Shadab Khan
  9. Hasan Ali
  10. Shaheen Afridi
  11. Haris Rauf

Sri Lanka:

  1. Pathum Nissanka
  2. Kusal Perera
  3. Kusal Mendis (wk)
  4. Sadeera Samarawickrama
  5. Charith Asalanka
  6. Dhananjaya de Silva
  7. Dasun Shanaka (c)
  8. Dunith Wellalage
  9. Maheesh Theekshana
  10. Matheesha Pathirana
  11. Dilshan Madushanka


Leave a Comment