Fascinating Cricket World Cup Trivia & Top Contenders for Victory

The 13th ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, the third hosted solely by one nation (India), runs from October 5 to November 19 in 10 Indian cities. The 48-match event concludes at Ahmedabad’s massive Narendra Modi Stadium. Let’s delve into intriguing tournament facts.

Australia’s Dominance: Australia boasts five World Cup titles, with their most recent win in 2015. They secured three consecutive titles from 1999 to 2007 and clinched their first in India in 1987. Australia’s prowess spans formats, recently becoming ICC Test Champions and winning the T20 World Cup.

India’s Favorable Odds: India, the host for 2023, emerges as a formidable team. They triumphed in the Asia Cup and are the top-ranked ODI side. With a squad holding 1,449 ODI matches’ worth of experience, including Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma, India is a strong contender.

Credit By Photo: www.thenationalnews.com

New Zealand’s Aspirations: New Zealand, twice World Cup runners-up, aims for success. They won the ICC Test Championship and reached the T20 World Cup final in 2021. They enter as winners of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League.

Credit By Photo: www.thenationalnews.com

Absent West Indies: This tournament marks the first absence of West Indies, previous winners in 1975 and 1979. Despite attempts in the Super League and the Cricket World Cup Qualifier, they failed to qualify. Ireland and Zimbabwe, other Test nations, also missed out.

Credit By Photo: www.thenationalnews.com

Pakistan’s Challenge: Pakistan returns to India for the first time since 2016, with no player having recent international experience on Indian soil. The team lacks a decade-long international veteran, making experience a potential concern.

Credit By Photo: www.thenationalnews.com



Leave a Comment