Discover the victor of the recent Cricket World Cup by revisiting the thrilling 2019 ICC ODI tournament.


Discover the victor of the recent Cricket World Cup by revisiting the thrilling 2019 ICC ODI tournament.

2019 cricket world cup final, 2019 cricket world cup winners, 2019 icc odi world cup news cricbuzz, 2019 icc odi world cup news live, 2019 icc odi world cup news team

The 2023 Cricket World Cup is on the horizon, and if it lives up to the excitement of the previous edition, we’re in for a treat. India plays host to the 13th edition of the ICC Men’s ODI tournament, a reminiscence of the thrilling 2019 competition.

The 12th edition took place in England and Wales from May 30 to July 14, 2019, featuring ten teams battling for the coveted ICC trophy in a single round-robin format. The top four teams, India, New Zealand, England, and Australia, advanced to the playoffs.

New Zealand bested India, while England triumphed over Australia, leading to an electrifying final that had fans on the edge of their seats. Kane Williamson of New Zealand claimed the Player of the Tournament title for his remarkable 578 runs and two wickets.

The final match at Lord’s between England and New Zealand ended in a dramatic tie, necessitating a Super Over. This tiebreaker also concluded with a tie, ultimately decided by the boundary countback rule, granting England their first ICC World Cup victory, leaving New Zealand waiting.

In the final, New Zealand chose to bat first and set a target of 241 runs. England’s bowlers, Chris Woakes and Liam Plunkett, contained the Kiwis, but Jos Buttler and Ben Stokes steadied the ship. Stokes’ unbeaten 84 ensured England reached the target and forced a Super Over.

Credit By:

England batted first in the Super Over, and Trent Boult conceded 15 runs, including an unfortunate four overthrows. New Zealand’s Martin Guptill and Jimmy Neesham managed 15 runs in response, resulting in another tie. The victor was determined by boundary count, with England prevailing with 26 boundaries to New Zealand’s 17.

In terms of batting records, India’s Rohit Sharma dominated the 2019 ODI World Cup with the highest run tally and the most centuries (five). England’s Eoin Morgan smashed the most sixes (22) in the tournament. England also recorded the highest team total, scoring 397 runs against Afghanistan in the group stage.

2019 ODI World Cup Leading Run Scorers

Rohit Sharma (India)648
David Warner (Australia)647
Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh)606
Kane Williamson (New Zealand)578
Joe Root (England)556

2019 ODI Cricket World Cup Bowling Achievements

Mitchell Starc of Australia emerged as the top wicket-taker in the competition, securing 27 wickets. He was closely followed by New Zealand’s Lockie Ferguson, who claimed 21 wickets.

Pakistan’s Shaheen Afridi achieved the tournament’s best bowling figures with an outstanding performance of 6/35.

Leading Wicket-Takers in the 2019 ODI World Cup

Mitchell Starc (Australia)27
Lockie Ferguson (New Zealand)21
Jofra Archer (England)20
Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh)20
Jasprit Bumrah (India)18

The 2023 ODI Cricket World Cup is set to take place in India, spanning from October 5 to November 19, 2023, promising an exciting display of cricketing excellence.

Originally scheduled for February to March 2023, the tournament underwent rescheduling by the ICC due to COVID-related challenges, shifting it to the October-November timeframe.

The pinnacle of the event, the final match, will unfold on November 19 at the iconic Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.


Leave a Comment